Start your future now!

FAQs

What is Open Innovation?

The principle of “Open Innovation” stands for an open culture of innovation, for targeted exchanges and closely involving people in innovation processes. In this way, competitiveness and sustainability are to be strengthened in times of rapid technological and social change. At corporate level, the term originated with the American academic Henry Chesbrough (2003). The project “Open Innovation City” sets out to apply the principle to a city.


Who are the project partners?

The Fachhochschule des Mittelstands (FHM), the Founders Foundation, the Pioneers Club and owl maschinenbau have come together for this future-oriented project. Of course, the project team will also be supported by other strong partners. The initiators’ goal is to achieve a sustainable and future-oriented transfer and therefore to strive to consolidate the Open Innovation City approach.


Who is funding this project?

The project is funded by the Ministry of Economy, Innovation, Digitisation and Energy of the state of North Rhine Westphalia and the patron is the Mayor of the city of Bielefeld, Mr. Pit Clausen.


How long will the project run for?

The official project start date was 1 July 2019. The current funding period will run until March 2023. After that, a project transfer is advised.


Why should I get involved?

With Open Innovation City, you have the opportunity to help shape Bielefeld’s future sustainability. Whether you are an administration, an SME, a university, a social institution or a citizen: the project offers the opportunity to launch initiatives in the city which would not take place otherwise. People and organisations can therefore be brought together to work on future-oriented ideas for our city. Thanks to local networking, exciting formats and international partnerships, everyone stands to benefit from the Open Innovation City. Let’s approach the opportunities and challenges for the city and create initiatives that move Bielefeld forwards.


Who can participate?

Open Innovation City brings all areas of a city together: Politics and administration, industry and start-ups, education and research, art and culture as well as citizen engagement. Every organisation and all citizens are invited to help shape the Open Innovation City. The more diverse the people working on Bielefeld’s future are, the more colourful and innovative the results will be.


How can I participate?

Are you interested in the project and would you like to be part of it? Get in touch with us! We are excited to have anyone on board who wants to be a part of the Open Innovation City, to drive forward new ideas and help to shape a sustainable Bielefeld. Send us an email to info@@openinnovationcity..de – we will be in touch!


I don’t come from Bielefeld. Can I get involved anyway?

Yes, of course! An Open Innovation City is open to any kind of collaboration. We are looking forward to you getting in touch by email on info@@openinnovationcity..de.

Start your future now!

FAQs

Was ist Open Innovation?

Das Prinzip der „Open Innovation“ steht für eine offene Innovationskultur, für gezielten Austausch und enge Einbindung der Menschen in Innovationsprozesse. Auf diese Weise soll in Zeiten schnellen technologischen und gesellschaftlichen Wandels die Wettbewerbs- und Zukunftsfähigkeit gestärkt werden. Auf der Unternehmensebene geht der Begriff zurück auf den US-Wissenschaftler Henry Chesbrough (2003). Das Projekt „Open Innovation City“ setzt sich zum Ziel, das Prinzip auf eine Stadt zu übertragen.


Wer sind die Projektpartner?

Für dieses zukunftsweisende Projekt haben sich die Fachhochschule des Mittelstands (FHM), die Founders Foundation, der Pioneers Club und owl maschinenbau zusammengeschlossen. Das Projektteam wird natürlich durch weitere starke Partner unterstützt. Die Initiatoren haben das Ziel, einen nachhaltigen und zukunftsweisenden Transfer zu erreichen und streben damit eine Verstetigung des Open Innovation City Ansatzes an.


Wer fördert dieses Projekt?

Das Projekt wird gefördert durch das Ministerium für Wirtschaft, Innovation, Digitalisierung und Energie des Landes Nordrhein-Westfalen und steht unter der Schirmherrschaft des Oberbürgermeisters der Stadt Bielefeld, Herrn Pit Clausen.


Wie lange läuft das Projekt?

Der offizielle Projektstart war am 1. Juli 2019. Die aktuelle Förderperiode läuft bis März 2023. Im Anschluss ist ein Projekttransfer avisiert.


Warum sollte ich mich beteiligen?

Mit Open Innovation City können Sie die Zukunftsfähigkeit Bielefelds mitgestalten. Ob Verwaltung, mittelständisches Unternehmen, Hochschule, soziale Einrichtung oder Bürger/in: Das Projekt bietet die Möglichkeit, Initiativen in der Stadt zu starten, die sonst nicht stattfinden würden. Und dabei Menschen und Organisationen zusammenzubringen, die gemeinsam an zukunftsweisenden Ideen für unsere Stadt arbeiten. Durch lokale Vernetzung, spannende Formate und internationale Partnerschaften profitiert jeder von der Open Innovation City. Lassen Sie uns gemeinsam die Chancen und Herausforderungen der Stadt angehen und Innovationen schaffen, die Bielefeld voranbringen.


Wer kann mitmachen?

Open Innovation City bringt alle Bereiche einer Stadt zusammen: Politik und Verwaltung, Wirtschaft und Start-ups, Bildung und Forschung, Kunst und Kultur sowie bürgerschaftliches Engagement. Jede Organisation und alle Bürgerinnen und Bürger sind eingeladen, die Open Innovation City mitzugestalten. Je verschiedener die Menschen, die an einem zukunftsweisenden Bielefeld arbeiten, desto bunter und innovativer werden die Ergebnisse sein.


Wie kann man mitmachen?

Sie haben Interesse am Projekt und möchten mitmachen? Melden Sie sich bei uns! Wir freuen uns über alle, die ein Teil der Open Innovation City werden möchten, um neuartige Ideen voranzutreiben und die Gestaltung einer zukunftsfähigen Stadt Bielefeld selbst in die Hand zu nehmen. Senden Sie einfach eine Mail an info@@openinnovationcity..de – wir melden uns!


Ich komme nicht aus Bielefeld. Kann ich mich trotzdem beteiligen?

Ja, natürlich! Eine Open Innovation City ist offen für jede Art von Zusammenarbeit. Wir freuen uns auf Ihre Kontaktaufnahme per Mail an info@@openinnovationcity..de.